Metropolitan London (Year 4)

Study Map_1024x768

Above: Outline map of Inner London showing the areas being studied at the present time. Click on the map to bring up a larger version which you can download and print out on an A4 sheet of paper for reference.

The articles that appear on this Website are not presented in any particular order. The one thing they all have in common is that they all relate to an Inner London Borough (or somewhere very close to the boundary of Inner London).

For many years I have been lecturing on Inner London, working to a set plan which takes six years to complete. Some of you will have attended my lectures and already know the sequence of events. During each year I present lectures and conduct walks within particular areas of Inner London so that, by the end of the six years, the whole of Inner London is covered.

At the present time, we are concentrating on four old Metropolitan Boroughs – Southwark, Camberwell, Deptford and Lewisham – as shown on the map (with each area labelled with the first four letters of each name). The Metropolitan Boroughs of Southwark, Bermondsey and Camberwell were combined to form the larger London Borough of Southwark. This year we are only studying Southwark and Camberwell. Similarly, the Metropolitan Boroughs of Deptford and Lewisham were combined to form the larger London Borough of Lewisham. We are studying both Deptford and Lewisham during this year.

This means that, although each blog could be about any part of Inner London, the majority of the titles are likely to relate to the four green areas just described on the map. From time to time similar maps will be produced to show which areas are being studied.


Comment – Metropolitan London

After spending time on a part of the City of London and then studying a part of Westminster, it is now time to think about the other eleven London Boroughs. We shall be looking at a large part of the London Borough of Southwark which was once two Metropolitan Boroughs – Southwark and Camberwell. That will be followed by a selection of places of interest in the London Borough of Lewisham which was formed from the Metropolitan Borough of Deptford and the Metropolitan Borough of Lewisham.


This entry was posted in /Lew-Deptford, /Lew-Lewisham, /Sou-Camberwell, /Sou-Southwark, Lon_Comment, Lon_Metropolitan London. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.