With so many Webpages (or Blogs) it is essential to be able to find your way around the Know Your London Website. You need a good index. The answer is to use the Categories list which is on the right-hand side of every Webpage. The titles in the Categories list is constantly changing in an attempt to make it as useful as possible. At the end of July 2020, there was a major re-organisation of the Categories list. Read below to find out how the Categories list is organised.

London Boroughs

The Categories list contains all the London Boroughs. The list is alphabetical, showing both Inner London and Outer London Boroughs. If you are unfamiliar with these boroughs then their names are shown below.

Inner London Boroughs – There are 12 of them. The City of London appears in the list (making it a 13th entry) but it is not a London Borough because it has its own separate administration.

City of London
Hammersmith and Fulham
Kensington and Chelsea
Tower Hamlets
Westminster, City of

Outer London Boroughs – These have at least one item described on the Website are shown below. There are 20 in total but not all of them will ever be listed on this Website because it only describes places in Inner London and a few on the border.

Barking and Dagenham

All the above names are in the Categories list and all of them start with an oblique stroke (/). The list is longer than you might expect because many of the London Boroughs are split into sections. Three examples are shown below.

(1) The London Borough of Camden was formed from three Metropolitan Boroughs – Hampstead, Holborn and St Pancras – so, Camden is split into three parts. Similarly, most of the Inner London Boroughs are also split into two or three parts.

(2) The City of London actually has 14 sections. There is the ‘/City of London’ entry which is reserved for general blogs about the City itself. There are also 13 sections under which the City of London is described.

(3) Westminster has eight sections. There is the ‘/Wes-City of’ for general blogs about the whole of Westminster There are also seven sections under which Westminster is described.

Extra Categories

Look down the Categories list and these appear towards the bottom. They do not have an oblique stroke (/) in front of the name. There are five Extra Categories – each split into further sub-divisions.

(1) COMMON ITEMS – These are items that relate to one or more areas of study. For example, London Bridge has two ends and, therefore, relates to two different areas of study.

(2) LONDON – Look down the Categories list and you will find ‘/LONDON’. This is reserved for very general blogs about the whole of London. Below this title are various links to particular aspects of London.

/Lon_Comment – This Category lists blogs that have an additional section at the end called ‘Comment’. In the main, such comments relate to the way the sequence of blogs has been scheduled.

/Lon_London in 1891 – This Category lists pictures contemporary with the year 1891.

/Lon_Metropolitan London – This Category lists blogs showing plans for each year of a six-year course.

/Lon_Metropolitan London History – This Category lists a series of blogs about how London developed. This is useful background for anyone looking for an outline history of London.

/Lon_Mini-Lectures – This Category lists ‘lectures’ on specific topics related to London.

/Lon_Moment in Time – This Category lists blogs describing a historic picture of a place in Inner London.

/Lon_Overviews – This Category lists areas of study which have an ‘Overview’ blog. As time goes by, there will be an ‘Overview’ for every entry in the Categories list. Click on the ‘/Lon_Overviews’ to see what has been completed so far.

/Lon_Quick Look Around – This is also being completed with time. The difference between an ‘Overview’ and a ‘Quick Look Around’ is that the ‘Overview’ applies to the main names in the list and the ‘Quick Look Around’ applies to an indented name in the Categories list.

/Lon_Reminiscing – This Category lists blogs related to the author’s own personal experience of living and working in London.

(3) PEOPLE – Examples of these are ‘Jews in London’ or ‘Vikings’. The list will grow with time.

(3) PERSONS – An example is Geoffrey Chaucer. This list will also grow with time.

(5) SUBJECTS – Probably one of the most useful parts of the Categories list. Look at the items under ‘SUBJECTS’ and you can list a particular topic. For example, you can list ‘Modern Buildings’. It should be noted that these items are only listed if there is a blog written about them.